Ripe Nanner Chant!

I don’t know about you but sometimes I chant for my bananas to get ripe. Ripe nanner dances, chants… sometimes you just need to do it.
There’s something about banana bread which just makes the world feel right. Even though it’s a dessert, the fact it has bananas in it just makes me feel like it’s okay to eat half a loaf of “slivers”. I like to eat bananas every way… Green Yellow Brown Spotted or nice, black, and mashed with a fork to make delicious recipes. Personally, I think bananas taste the best when there is just 1-5 brown spots on them. NO MORE THAN 5. Lol, joking… Kinda.
I found this banana bread recipe a while ago and have been using it since. It’s SO healthy (besides the fact banana bread isn’t the worst thing for you to eat to begin with) and it’s really simple. I love, love, love to smear it with peanut butter or greek yogurt with a little bit of cinnamon & syrup on top. Yummmm. Plus, I can always just slice it and take it to class with me as a snack, so that’s another plus in my book!

 

 

 

 

Whole Wheat Banana Bread

Makes 1 loaf

Ingredients:
-3 Medium, mashed ripe bananas
-2 eggs (I used 1/2 cup EggBeaters)
-1/3 cup Unsweetened applesauce
-1/2 cup honey
-1 tsp Vanilla
-1Β 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
– 2 tsp Cinnamon (I used a tablespoon or more because I love cinnamon)
-1 tsp Nutmeg (I used a little more)
-1/2 tsp salt
-1 tsp baking soda
-1/4 cup hot water
-Optional: Pecans, choccie chips, walnuts, etc.

Directions:

Bake @ 350.

In one bowl,
Mix applesauce and honey together.
Add eggies. Add nanners and vanilla. Stir to combine.
In a separate bowl, mix flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt together.
Fold mixture into wet ingredients.
Stir in baking soda and hot water.
Fold in topping(s).

SpreadΒ  into a greased bread pan and bake for 50-60 minutes. (Or when toothpick comes out clean)

 

 

 

 

ENJOY half of the loaf πŸ˜‰

One night I decided I didn’t feel like making pancakes (The Horror). So, I decided to make banana bread french toast from slices of banana bread. Just mixed some egg whites, OJ, cinnamon, nutmeg, and a splash of milk. Dip and cook. Easy peasy.
And if this is wrong, I don’t want to be right.

What is your favorite bread?

Mine is definitely a good pumpkin bread or a banana bread with choccie chips.

What are some of your favorite protein cookies/protein snack recipes?

I’ve been looking but I want legit ones. I always just find recipes but never bake them so I never know where I see them. 😦 Just salivate over them. Growl. This is changing, though.

Has Libby’s pumpkin been spotted yet?!?!?!

Happy Friday. I will be doing homework all weekend! πŸ™‚

18 thoughts on “Ripe Nanner Chant!

  1. Just 1-5 spots huh πŸ™‚ too funny! I can’t eat bananas by themselves but in something is ok. I think it’s a texture thing. Banana bread french sounds pretty delish!
    Katie : )

  2. Yummm great recipe πŸ™‚ I love to eat my bananas when they’re oober green, but I always use the mushy ones for smoothies πŸ˜€ My favorite bread is probably zucchini and I love baking protein bars with loads of pumpkin!
    Speaking of pumpkin, dude I haven’t seen libby’s yet and it’s driving me crazy, I can’t wait to get my hands on a can!!!

    • I seriously can’t wait for pumpkin. I want to make your bars and I’m about to drive a billion miles to get some organic pumpkin so I can make it. I’ll be so mad if I find out it’s hiding somewhere around here. lol

  3. Wooo, bananas! Fellow banana lovers unite! I eat 2-3 a day. Every time I go to the store I buy a dozen because I want them to be ripe by the time I’m done with the previous dozen. Ha.

    To answer your questions:

    My favorite protein-y snacks are hard-boiled eggs and peanut butter straight up! Not together of course.

    So far the only place around me that’s selling Libby’s is Wal-mart, which I shun.

    And yes, I find when I’m working on school it’s a lot more productive when it comes “naturally”. Thankfully I am a nerd so I don’t have to worry about this too much!

    • I should make some hard-boiled eggs. I didn’t even think of that. It’s such a quick protein snack. Except I hate dry egg yolks. Ew. hahah.

      And even though Walmart is Walmart, I’d be buying them out of Libbys! You. are. lucky!

      And I’m a nerd, too. I love math. With that said, I think we’d get along pretty well. haha

  4. The bread looks yummy! I’ve made it before with chocolate chips and it turned out really good. Also, I have a recipe for banana muffins with PB&Co Dark Chocolate Dreams swirled in, gonna try it soon.

    • I think that’s how I feel, too. I love banana bread with nutmeg and spices… It just tastes SO good… Almost refreshing. And if the bread is light, you really don’t feel like you’re eating a dessert. Just a slice of heaven. haha

  5. I have been obsessed with pumpkin for years lol and have always put it in my oatmeal so I am horrified by the pumpkin shortage! My neighbor found the organic pumpkin and bought me 3 cans. I need more already and it’s been less than a week haha!!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

