Chili Recipe & Two [tiny] Steps & Funny Fact

So it’s been a while, but I have taken all of your feedback into a lot of consideration. Thank you all so, so much. I’ll start with my chili recipe which I adapted from the awesome Kath. It’s a vegetarian chili-ish/stew-ish dish. I never make anything for myself so I’m pretty proud to say I finally made something I can warm up throughout the week! Haha. Here you go [my additions/changes are in red]

Throw-in-a-Pot Vegetarian Chili

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
[adapted from here]

Ingredients (12 cups)

  • 1 small sweet onion
  • 2-3 tsp garlic, minced
  • 1 can Kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can Black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 2 cans Navy (or pinto) beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 cup can of frozen corn
  • 1 cup frozen okra
  • 1/2 cup frozen lima beans (or canned)
  • 1 28 oz can crushed tomatoes [fire-roasted]
  • 2 bags frozen spinach
  • 1 cup vegetable broth (or chicken broth)
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 1 heaping tbsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp cumin [I used probably a Tablespoon or more. This is my favorite spice!]
  • 1 tsp coriander
  • 1 tsp Ghirardelli cocoa powder (unsweet)
  • 2 sprinkles garlic powder [I added more at the end, I am Italian ;-)]
  • 1 sprinkle cayenne pepper
  • 3-4 glugs Worcestershire sauce 
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • A few grinds of black pepper

Instructions

  • Spray pot with olive oil cooking spray, saute garlic and onions until onions are translucent.
  • Throw the rest of the ingredients in a pot! Bring to boil.
  • Reduce heat, cover and simmer for 20-30 minutes, or longer.

 

 

You may think this does not look appealing, but I assure you… It’s delicious.

MAKE IT NOW!
Okay, so now my two tiny steps. They may seem ridiculous but they are steps I hope that will lead to bigger and consistent steps. First, I finally ordered a sandwich at the cafe I do work at all of the time. It was really good and although I did get [light on] the provolone cheese instead of cream cheese… It was so worth it. I never order food out because I don’t know what’s on it… So I decided just to get up, shut up, and eat it. [with a side of fruit && pickle :-)]

toasted wheat, onion, peppers, tomato, provolone cheese, and hot pepper jelly

SO delicious. Love the jelly + cheese combo, I missed it so.

 

Second tiny step… I finally set up an appointment at the counseling center. About time, right?! But I did it. I was pretty much going back and forth in front of the building for about 15 5 minutes, but I got my toosh in there.

Horray!

Although my knee is causing me to have anxiety attacks [literally] every 3 hours… I’m just trying to stay positive. I’m not going to lie, when it gets inflamed, I get so upset I get chills, sweats, and cry like a baby. Before I had eating problems, I never used to cry. I was a tom-boy and I loved living life on the edge!

Boo! ;o)

Funny Fact:

The dunkin’ donuts I go to for coffee has my coffee ready for me before I get into the building. I. love. it. Haha!

Have you ever gone to a place so much, your order is ready before you say anything?

I’m a creature of habit, so this tends to happen to me a lot. 😉

If you watching the Biggest Loser, what do you think about Anna being the new trainer?

I’m not going to lie… I was a bit disappointed the first couple of episodes; however, I bought the new Women’s Health Magazine and after reading the article, I guess I respect her as a trainer a little bit more.

9 thoughts on “Chili Recipe & Two [tiny] Steps & Funny Fact

  1. I need to try that recipe. I’m like you I rarely ever make an actual meal…stick w/ the simple things. Sooooo proud of you! Those are big steps, both of them! Seriously girl be proud of yourself and don’t brush them off.
    Too funny about dunkin donuts : ). Enjoy the rest of your week!
    Katie : )

  2. Yummy recipe and awesome Halloween towel things! 🙂
    Girl you should give yourself a major pat on the back, those steps are monumental! Way to go!!

  3. Sooo glad to hear you made the appointment!! The people at Starbucks know my order when I walk in the door and I kind of like it. That chili looks awesome, cant wait to try it when the weather gets cooler.

  4. Hey Lauren, I’m a counselor so I have to say congrats on making the appointment. I can appreciate how hard it is to walk in and open up. I hope you found a good counselor. I can relate to your struggles with your knee injury. I had 3 stress fractures in my foot after running a couple of marathons a few years back. I had to stop running and experienced a lot of depression and anxiety. I actually had so much anxiety that my joints started to swell and have pain. I thought I might have Lupus or Rheumatoid arthritis at age 30! When in fact it was all due to stress and anxiety. I couldn’t run (in fact I tried to get back into it before I was fully recovered and tore ligaments and tendons in my foot, so please don’t push yourself, you will make your recovery time longer than it needs to be) so I didn’t know how to deal with my stress. I finally was able to fight back my fears and be more positive through counseling, good friends, prayer, petting my cats, and crying a lot.

    I’m a counselor, and I still needed to ask for help. I did learn a lot from that time and I’m proud of myself for getting through it. Now I only walk and do yoga, but I’m mentally and physically stronger than ever. You can let go of old habits and negative thoughts. It isn’t easy, but it is definitely possible. Don’t give up, and I really really hope you have a great counselor that can help you navigate through this hard time.

Leave a Reply

