Happy First Birthday!

1

The best decision I ever made was to get a puppy. There are many people you will encounter in life who let you down but dogs are full of unconditional love. I remember driving home after getting my new Cavapoo puppy. Immediately after backing out of the driveway, he just cried and cried and cried. The whole way home I was thinking, “What did I just get myself into?”

11

Well, I can tell you with 100% honesty training a puppy is hard work but no amount of words can explain how much I love my dog and I got myself into a life with a new best friend.

111

Through all of the tough times, including disordered eating, social anxiety, and just stress from student teaching, Elmo has given me smile upon smile and laugh upon laugh when I thought I could not go on.

11111

Although there were days I did treat him horribly because I was in a bad mood (which I regret), he still loves me unconditionally. No matter what. Unlike friends, family, etc. who eventually get tired of mood swings and crumby moods… He never let me go and never gave up on me.

1111

I owe so much to him. Words cannot describe how much my life has changed since I got him. He got me through one of the toughest times in my life. It sounds ridiculous but it is 100% true. He made life worth living for me and he gave me a reason to get out of bed each and every day… Something I began to struggle with my last few months of school. He allowed me to forget things and move on when something does not go my way. He made me realize people and situations, like animals, cannot make perfect decisions and be perfect. He made me realize I cannot be perfect and it is OKAY.

111111

Happy First Birthday, Elmo. And here is to many. many more birthdays and memories!
1111111

I love you more than anything.
Love, Mommy.

11 thoughts on “Happy First Birthday!

  1. Awwww this is SO cute!!!! Happy birthday to your puppy. Everything about him is adorable, from his name to his face. I hope you got to do something special for him today 🙂

    • WAH! I know. We both gave each other that “I think that’s her but I don’t wanna be a creeeeeep look.” haha! I remember I raced home and the first thing I did was comment and say, “I THINK I JUST SAW YOU”!

      … As if THAT isn’t creepy. hahah

  2. precious doggy!!! I have a maltipoo named Noah and he is my bundle of joy! I know where you are coming from- even when things aren’t going great or you aren’t having the best day, they are always there- so happy to see you and so eager to love on you! 🙂

  3. Aww, happy birthday, Elmo! Dogs are the perfect best friends and teachers, aren’t they? Sometimes I wish my dog could talk…I wonder what they would tell us?

    P.S. I am glad you are back blogging…I used to creep on your blog months ago and was wondering where you went!

    • I’m back! 🙂 I’m glad you thought about me! And I always wonder what my dog is thinking, especially when he sees me icing my knee and stuff… probably something on the lines of get off your butt, i wanna play. haha

Leave a Reply

