Dirty Monkey Cake

Today started off with some squats and 30 minutes light biking while watching Regis and Michael.
They featured Kelly Rippa’s workout on the show and the girl’s workout is fierce.
Obviously, I am obsessed with her. They even said on the show, “Rippa is ripped” haha!
While I was watching, I realized a teddy bear rape occurred in my living room. Elmos favorite thing is to destroy toys!
RIP Teddy.
Untitled

After a little icing, I started browsing some recipes around the blog world.
I wanted to do something with the ripe bananas in our kitchen so I decided to make Angela’s Rustic Chocolate Chip Banana Oat Cake.
I’ve been eyeing this up for a long time so I decided to give it a go!
Elmohippo

Of course, I couldn’t get any baking done because someone is starved for attention.
So needy.

RUSTIC CHOCOLATE CHIP BANANA OAT CAKE (AKA Dirty Monkey Cake :))
Slightly adapted from Angela’s recipe
Ingredients
•2 cups regular oats, processed into a flour
•1/2 cup regular oats
•1/2 cup brown sugar, packed firmly
•1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
•1/8th tsp ground nutmeg
•2 tbsp sugar
•1 tsp baking powder
•1/2 tsp kosher salt
•2 tbsp coconut oil, melted )
•2 medium very ripe bananas
•1/3 cup applesauce
•1/4 cup skim milk
•1 tsp pure vanilla extract
•1/2 cup dark chocolate chips; 1/4 cup walnuts, chopped; 1 ripe banana, cut into chunks (optional)

Instructions
•1. Preheat oven to 350F and lightly grease a 8 inch cake pan. Take 2 cups of regular oats and process them in a food processor until flour like in consistency.
•2. In a large bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients.
•3. In a food processor, pulse bananas until smooth then mix together the oil, applesauce, milk, and vanilla.
•4. Add the wet mixture to the dry and stir until just combined. Now fold in the chips, walnuts, and chopped banana.
•5. Spread into prepared pan and bake for 36 minutes at 350F or until a toothpick comes out clean.
•6. Once the cake is cooled, store in the fridge for up to 3 days. Makes 8-10 servings.
Chocchipbars

Mmmmmm.

On recovery note, I realized looking back at old pictures on this blog how different I do look now. I found pictures I took and I am glad to say I’ve definitely made improvements. Since my surgery, I could not say I have been doing good with putting a variety of food into my diet; however, I am eating and that’s different from how I used to be in previous months. I no longer believe fat is the devil or stupid shit EDs put into your mind. I love peanut butter and coconut oil so I am making small but important strides. 🙂

Oh, and I eat what I bake now. I might not gorge myself or eat a ton of it but moderation is key!
And well, I want some of the damn cake I take the time to bake.
Happy Hump Day!

18 thoughts on “Dirty Monkey Cake

  1. Good for you for seeing progress in yourself! The fact that you’re okay and even happy with this the changes you’re seeing is amazing. Push it one step further each day and you’ll be well on your way to healthy 🙂

  2. Oh my god, this is literally one of my favorite recipes!! I’ve made it like 10 times – its amazing! So satisfyingly delicious and rich, but actually pretty healthy 🙂 Good for you for how far you have come, seriously happy for you girl!

  3. Pingback: Puppy Loving | Life After Swimming

  4. Pingback: Good Applesauce Cake | familyrecipebooks

Leave a Reply

