Surgery #4.5

Yes, you read the title right. Here we go again. How is this MIMM? Let me explain. I haven’t gotten around to writing about my knee surgery story; however, the quick summary would be I have gotten 3.5 knee surgeries since June 28, 2011 on my right knee. I had arthroscopy for every surgery and had menisci repairs, plica removal, and subchondroplasty for a severe stress fracture. Yes. It was a very, very heartbreaking time for me. I’ve learned so much since my first surgery and I hope, hope, hope this one is the last one. Surgery #4.

DSC01813

Monster Hands?

After going to a rheumatologist, taking steroids, injecting steroids, seeing a hematologist, and trying every possible thing besides surgery, I saw my surgeon on Thursday and we decided an arthroscope was necessary at this point. Happy Birthday, you’re getting another surgery! As I said before, I absolutely adore my surgeon. He’s an older man who loves running and just completed a half marathon in Miami. Periodically while he was in Miami he was text messaging me about running and getting my knee to 100% again. He promised he will run a half marathon with me as soon as I can tolerate it. This may seem like a stretch because I don’t see myself running anymore, but if a surgeon/doctor says it’s possible… I guess it’s possible.

Marvelous is winning $4.00 and a free lottery ticket!

Marvelous is winning $4.00 and a free lottery ticket!

The thing is… He believe I have synovitis, so I’m getting a synevectomy and a biopsy of my synovial tissue/bone. If he finds something from the biopsy, I may need to go back in again. This scares the fucking shit out of me. I’m not even putting it lightly because yes, I am fucking nervous about this whole thing. Very nervous.
20130202_155639

When I was about to leave his office, he handed me a swag bag. He pulled out the Miami Half Marathon tech shirt and a race medal he received the previous weekend. He explained many people were running the race in honor of someone and he decided to run the race in honor of me and my future running career. Immediately, my mom and I teared up. He’s such a good guy. This means a lot to me. He knows I’ve struggled with depression, anxiety, and disordered eating since my first surgery and he wants me to get back to my life. I’m instructed to wear/bring the medal on surgery day – Friday 6th – for good luck. Marvelous.

Although this does not seem like something marvelous, it is a new surgery and a fresh start. New beginnings are always marvelous.
I just need to have faith. Lots and lots of faith. And luck. Please wish me luck from here until the 6th.
I am keeping my fingers and toes crossed… And my arms… And my legs… Maybe I should even braid my hair?!?

I hope everyone had a wonderful weekend! Tell me something marvelous! 🙂

22 thoughts on “Surgery #4.5

  1. Wow that is probably the kindest doctor I have ever heard of and I’m so glad he is there for you. Wow, I am just in awe of how much he goes out of his way.

    Random but I also have huge hands so I can relate to that one.

    • I have never met a surgeon or ANY doctor who is as genuine as him. Honestly, every time I go we have to wait a lot longer than my appointment time but the reason is he spends SO much time with each and every patient. It’s insane.

      And yeah, I took the picture and was like, “Whose hand is that?!”

  2. Oh wow. So that story about your surgeon totally just melted my heart – awesome guy for sure. And you can bet that I’ll be keeping you in my thoughts and prayers from now until the 6th. I can’t even imagine how difficult it must be to have to deal with something like that, so the fact that you’re handling it this well makes you kind of a rockstar. Hang in there, girlie, and definitely don’t lose faith ❤

    • Believe me, I got teary too! This is probably one of the toughest things I’ve ever had to deal with because it just has dramatically changed my life in SO many ways – physical, mental, emotional. I’m trying to hang in there as much as I can but I am a nervous wreck lol.

  3. Woah. That is one inspiring doctor. Wouldn’t it be nice if they were al like that? He sounds like he is going above and beyond the call of duty to make this process as calm as possible. I am wishing you the best of luck, girl! Crossing my fingers and toes for you that this will be the end!

  4. How awesome that doctor is! Very sweet they ran in your honor since you were not able to!

    I am crossing my fingers and toes for you girl! I know this time will be the magic time! You will be running before you know it! ❤

  5. Awe, your surgeon sounds super kind hearted! How sweet. You are for sure in my thoughts! Just keep up a positive attitude, keep your head up, and know that we’re all supporting you!

  6. Okay, your doctor is incredible. For him to give you the medal and shirt from the race and seriously believe you can run again, what a great inspiration to recover AND run again! Sure your post-surgery runs may not be instant PRs or super fast, but what qualifies a PR anyway, you can just divide your running career into before surgeries and after surgeries (like some people do with kids). I can’t wait for you to be able to run with him too.

    Good luck with the surgery. I’ll send tons of happy thoughts your way on Friday as you go through it *hugs*.

  7. Wow, your Dr. sounds absolutely amazing! What he did is so awesome. You are definitely in good hands, and I have no doubts that you’re going to be alright. You will get back to your life and you will get back to running. And it will feel incredible!

    I am praying for you and sending lots of good luck and positive energy your way!

Leave a Reply

