Surgery Day

20130206_235809

Indeed, I am home safe and sound after surgery. I’m on medication so I’m pretty sure it’s keeping me in a chipper mood more than I would be if I weren’t taking the medication; however, the meds are making me feel so, so sick in the stomach. It’s hard for me to have an appetite. I tried to eat my bedtime snack last night and could barely get through half of it. No bueno.

Yesterday, I woke up bright and early to go to the surgery center. Nervous would be an understatement.

20130206_094550

After my mom made me stop at Dunkin’ Donuts and teased me the entire time with drinking coffee in front of me, I was finally able to be put into my beautiful hospital gown. Don’t I look so cute and happy?!

20130206_100405

I am always amazed at the staff in the Paoli area. Everyone is so pleasant and there was only one nurse who was a little bit on the not-so warm and fuzzy side. My anesthesiologist was the best. I was wheeled into the OR and she said, “We were feeling Alicia Keys on Pandora today, I hope you don’t mind”. It’s always nice to giggle before surgery. 🙂 After I came out, they told me I had to stay overnight because I did need a synevectomy and it’s a really painful recovery for most people. Oy vey, right? Well, I ended up being discharged because I live an hour away, they didn’t have any rooms available, and my pain was not bad at all. Win? Win.

ffedc6f4709811e2a73522000a1faf50_7

Normally, I would only take water and never think to eat any crackers after surgery; however, ginger ale and graham crackers tasted just fine. My mom also drove to Wegmans to get me sushi, edamame, new Chobani fig and orange zest yogurt (YUM!), two Dunkin Donuts oatmeals, and Dunkin Donuts coffee. She’s the best. Again, I would have gotten mad because of ED anxiety but I was so happy to have her with me.After I got discharged and returned home, I scarfed down some oatmeal with pb and banana because, like I mentioned, I was not feeling very well at all so sushi was put into the fridge. Then, I just sat with my family and relaxed with my puppy. Is it just me or is the most painful part of surgery taking off the band-aids. OUCH.

20130206_222601

One thing that is bothering me is my left knee. Yeah, the other knee. It’s been feeling off the past few days and yesterday it was slightly poofy and a tad bit black and blue at the top. I’m not really sure if I strained a ligament trying to compensate or what but I am nervous as hell if anything hurts. I’m always scared I have osteoporosis since I got a stress fracture in my other knee, so I always assume the worst. I was foam rolling a lot last week for the first time and I’m not sure if that can cause swelling?? HELP. So, so nervous.
20130206_222610

Can foam rolling cause you to get swelling/black and blue?
Did you ever have slight swelling in your knee caused by
something?
It just feels stiff, not really painful. EEEK. I need to chill out.

13 thoughts on “Surgery Day

  1. Mom’s are definitely the best in those situations!! I’m glad everything went well with the surgery! Stop the worrying;) haha. I’m a crazy worry wart, so I understand the anxiety.
    I know it’s tough to stop “looking for the worst” in things, especially after something like this, but I definitely recommend talking to your Doctor, Mom, anyone who will listen really (you can e-mail me anytime) and definitely meditate in the morning (it seems weird), but I swear it has helped my anxiety SO much. I hope the meds stop making you feel so ill, that’s the worst when that happens.
    Keep on resting and relaxing! xo

    • When I was deep in my ED I hated being around my mom because of food related things, but now I openly talk to her about it and she has a lot more of an understanding than she used to. It’s nice to be able to talk to her even if we bicker sometimes because no one ever FULLY understands an ED if they never had one themselves.

      Meditation does not sound weird to me AT ALL. I actually YouTubed “Meditation before surgery” the night before my surgery but I fell asleep before I found anything 😛 I’m all about finding a relaxation point and just getting back to life.

  2. I’m so glad you’re in recovery now! My mom was crazy when I just got surgery haha she was treating me like I couldn’t do anything! It’s really nice to have her there to help you though. Hang in there and don’t hesitate to reach out!

  3. Phew. Glad to hear that your surgery went well, hun! I’m the biggest hypochondriac, so I can definitely relate to all of the anxiety that you’re experiencing over the healing process and your other knee acting up, but give it time, rest, and take it one day at a time. If it’s something that’s really bothering you, definitely talk to someone about it, but if you’re anything like me, then you’re probably just making a bigger deal out of it than it is.

    • Ultimately, I believe that is what I’m doing but I can’t help to immediately think the worst. Especially after all of these surgeries, I forget sometimes things can hurt without being serious. Haha. I’m just hoping and PRAYING that is the case!

    • I have been searching for it everywhere, too! Target has every flavor BUT the fig and orange zest. I was getting so mad! And yes, my mother said she squealed when she saw it in Wegmans. I giggled because she’s turning into a foodie. I won’t let her know it though. Lol! I might go up with her sometime soon so if you don’t get up there before I do, I could get you a four-pack! :o)

  4. I’m glad you are home now and that everything went as well as possible with your surgery. I sound like a hypocrite because I am the biggest hypochondriac ever, but try not to worry too much about your other knee. You can always ask your Dr. too and see what he has to say.

    I’ll be praying for a speedy recovery!

Leave a Reply

