Happy NSAD!

It’s theΒ NSAD – National Singles Awareness Day. I heard some people call it Valentine’s Day? I don’t know what that’s all about. Obviously, I live a bitter life. Haha! Needless to say, I’ve only had one boyfriend throughout my life and we did not date on Valentine’s Day. Yes, I was the girl who decided to be interested in someone then turn repulsed as soon as I got “asked out”… Some call it hard to get, I call it being smart. πŸ™‚ But Mr. Cupid, I know your silly little games and I am a tough one to win over.Β I know your games, you sly fox.
February13 018
For those of you with boyfriends – which is a large majority – I do hope you and your significant other have a very Happy Valentine’s Day, relax, and enjoy each others company. I’ll be chillin’ on my couch eating bon-bons and watching some sappy Valentine’s movie.

It has been one week since my surgery and things always seem to progress very slowly. Either 1.) I’m impatient (I am.) or 2.) The procedure did not fix what was wrong with my knee. Scary? Yes. Sucky? Yes. But, I guess I just have to wait until my follow-up. By the way, my left knee still makes a pinch-y feeling on the medial side at random times when I’m standing around my kitchen. UGHalskdjflaksdjfksd. But, this is what my knee looks like and it’s always red because I pretty much – always –Β lay around with ice on it.
February13 019
Otherwise, this week I decided to make a double batch of Chocolate Covered Katie’s Healthy Fudge Brownies. It was Fat Tuesday so why not make brownies? It only seems like the right thing to do. To be honest, this was my first time ever making anything with tofu. It’s intimidating.
February13 002
The verdict: Mom – “Ooo… these are so fudge-y.” … “Oh my God, these are really fudge-y and delicious!” Yeah, these are pretty much amazing. Worth it!
February13 006
I gave myself manicure #2 during my knee surgery recovery. A medium pink color with little hearts on the ring finger. I tried to get in the spirit of NSAD.
February13 015
My dad decided to be one of my Valentines. I did not expect this because I have turned from Daddy’s little girl to Daddy’s little headcase in the past year, so this was definitely a surprise. A really nice surprise.
February13 007
Here is my other little Valentine. Don’t you love his little bow-tie? At least I didn’t buy him little hair clips – even though I wanted to buy them so bad.
February13 011
I’m off to get myself some coffee, bon-bons, and ship my Foodie Pen-Pals/K-Cup packages! πŸ™‚
Happy Valentine’s (NSAD) Day!

Do you have a Valentine? What did you get him/her? What did you get as a gift?

33 thoughts on “Happy NSAD!

  1. Those brownies look so good! I’ve always been intrigued by recipes that use tofu, but been way to afraid to actually try it. I think that might have to change. And Elmo is the perfect little Valentine if you ask me! He doesn’t talk back, you don’t have to buy him any gifts, and he looks quite handsome in his little bowtie!

  2. Bahahahah what is my life. I’m totally that girl that would be caught with a bowl of ice cream and disgusting hair. My mom is my valentine, so it’s fine. Single girls unite!

  3. I’m glad the recipe was good- have heard mixed reviews on things like desserts with chickpeas, black beans, and tofu as ingredients but I’m sure with the right amount of sugar and chocolate you can make anything good (although at a point defeats the healthiness, haha). I do like tofu but have never had it in anything sweet like a brownie.

    Looks like your knee is healing well, it’s only been a week so no need to expect it to be feeling TOO much better. Glad you’re doing a good job of laying around and staying off of it so it can recover. As for as Valentine’s goes, it is a little overrated. My husband and I have a basket of goodies from Earth Fare and will go out to eat but that’s about it. I guess it’s fun when you’re dating but well… marriage it’s kinda like whatev… ;).

    • I seem to like all of CCK’s recipes with weird ingredients. I tend to go towards her recipes instead of random bean recipes because I feel as though hers are most likely delicious.

      It’s getting there but definitely no where near normal. I have a history of never recovering so I’m not even sure what recovery feels like at this point! It’s always nice to keep things low-key, anyway! Enjoy!

  4. I loved that episode of Big Bang Theory from that clip, one of the few episodes I have seen. Jenna Marbles is my hero, and I wissshh I could come lay down and be bum knee buddies with you (even though yours is WAYY more legit than mine!) My boyfriend is working today and he lives over an hour away soo..I will be spending the day alone..with my cats. I won’t call it quits just yet though bahaha.

    You may feel like your a pain in your dads ass, but you will ALWAYS be daddys little girl!! Kids are meant to be shit’s at times and you have a very good reason right now haha. OF COURSE he got you roses, so sweet!

  5. I feel you about Valentines day. Though I do have a boyfriend and are long distance he is flying all day so I’ll be eating ice cream and hanging out solo…LOL.

    I’m hoping your knee is on the rise of healing. I know a week is so long, yet so short if that makes sense.

  6. Awwr that’s super sweet of your dad. My dad always bought me flowers on Valentine’s too, but this year he’s gone on a business trip, and status with the boy is complicated, so I’m pretty much celebrating the single life… which I’m surprisingly fine with. I think I’ve just gotten to a point where I’m so used to being by myself that I’m perfectly content with it, and being with someone else feels a lot more strange than being alone. Eep! That doesn’t bode well for me….

    • It’s sad how you actually get USED to being alone/by yourself. I’m so used to doing everything by myself because, well, I would just go to Barnes and Noble, shopping, Starbucks, etc. entirely by myself since freshman year of college. Ooof.

  7. My parents totally got my valentine’s day presents;) How nice of your Dad!
    I’m celebrating single style, which I have done every year, so I never mind! I’ll probably just hit the town with some friends or something low key.
    Ok haha, we both posted about the exact same dessert today! Twins? Now I’m kind of even more excited to try them.Glad you’re getting yourself a coffee, I definitely got mine too! Obviously.
    Hope your knee keeps getting better!

    • Single girl swag! Haha. I wish I had a town to hit up (even though I couldn’t right now) but I live in the middle of nowhere! The brownies are really good, I promise. Totally worth it, especially to drown sorrows of Valentine’s Day. Nothing better than coffee and a brownie!

  8. Those brownies look great! I got some candy + flowers (not some big, elaborate bouquet though!) from my husband and I got him candy too! We also got our dog a new toy. πŸ™‚ My mom is stopping by on her way home from work to drop off a gift for me, too. Yay!

  9. My valentine this year is my lovely boyfriend :’) ❀ So far I only got him a cute stuffed animal but tomorrow we're officially celebrating and I plan on making him a little comic-book style card of us πŸ™‚

  10. Thanks for sharing that brownie recipe. I always love experimenting with different healthy alternatives like beans, tofu, applesauce. I am happy to hear about your progress. Get Well Soon and what an amazing dad πŸ™‚ I had a great valentines day- we just did little picnic at a park where we first met and cooked dinner together πŸ™‚

  11. Oh em gee. Your pup looks so adorable in the bow tie. I am totally afraid to cook with tofu too! So go you for doing it! Those brownies look amazing, I went out for cocktails on Fat Tuesday, haha love it! Your nails look great too, love the heart decals. Happy Belated NSAD from a fellow single! My friend and I are celebrating tonight with girls night!

    • My friend and I are planning a frozen yogurt single ladies night to protest against Valentine’s Day haha! You are SUCH a drinker lol! I LOVE IT. I wish I could drink but I’m always on pain killers. WAH, i miss wine.

  12. Treating yourself to coffee on V-Day is a great idea! Well… treating yourself to coffee any day is an awesome plan in my book!! I hope your knees start to feel better ASAP!!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

