Right vs. Wrong

I must say, I do love the concept of my last post.
I think it’s a nice way to see things which may be overlooked every day.
I wish I could remember where I’ve seen the post before so I could give credit where credit is due but, unfortunately, I cannot remember for the life of me!
But for everyone who loved the idea, please do a post of your own!
And don’t worry about “crediting” me, just do the dang thing! Ha!

One of the hardest things throughout this whole surgery recovery is not understanding what’s wrong versus what’s right.
I have numerous people telling me numerous things and it just gets confusing and overwhelming.

For example:

1.) To rest or not to rest. My left knee has plica inflammation. Normally, you should rest something which hurts and stop the activity that caused it to become angry. Well, I don’t do any activity with my legs so I’m not really sure what to stop for it to heal. Surgeon says to swim and walk but it pinches when I walk. If you research plica, everything says rest – common sense. I’m sure I should listen to my surgeon, but I was told by a doctor to “Just go run!” when I had a stress fracture in my knee, so I’m a little skeptical. Ugh, still makes me cringe.

2.) To wear a brace on my knee or not wear a brace on my knee. It seems like if I wear a brace on my knee, the friction over the tissue irritates the shit out of it. It doesn’t like being touched or rubbed the wrong way – i don’t blame it; however, if I don’t wear a brace, it feels like my knee has too much freedom to move around and it gets mad anyway. Oof.

3.) Ice or Heat. This is a big one. For some reason, I think heat may help this one but ice is always used for inflammation.

4.) Push it. I’ve been told by numerous people to push my knees. You know what happens when you push a pissed off knee? It becomes even more pissed off. And once that baby is pissed, there is no turning back. My mom keeps telling me to treat my left knee like there’s nothing wrong. Well, if I do this it could turn into something very terrible and I could end up not being able to even walk.

5.) My Shoes. For some reason, I have a really, really bad feeling I have a weird way of walking which isn’t noticeable by the naked eye. From years of compensating, I’m pretty sure I do something funky with my hips and my whole gait is completely out of whack. I’m pretty sure I swing my hip or do something weird with my feet but I wear neutral shoes and people always tell me I don’t pronate. It’s just a big question mark.

Now, I sit around all day and wonder what is the right decision. Which should I choose? And it drives me insane. Absolutely insane. I do not have the answer and I hate it. I can try researching and everything but everyone’s situation is different. No one has my exact story and no one has been through exactly what I’ve been through, so you can never find what you’re looking for. This overwhelms me a lot because I just want to know what I’m doing wrong or right.

Needless to say… I want to be perfect in my recovery.
This word is the demon in so many ways and affects so many things in my life.
I know you cannot be perfect, I’ve accepted this with my knee.
But I just want to do the right thing for once and I don’t know which way to go.

Time to get Elmo up!
Have a great Saturday!


Follow my blog with Bloglovin

8 thoughts on “Right vs. Wrong

  1. Ugh- I had knee surgery a year and a half ago and it sucked! I don’t think my surgery was as bad as yours (from what it sounds like), but it still wasn’t fun. Just listen to your body; you know what’s best for it.

    Feel better asap, girl!

  2. I know what you mean about things feeling off for so long that you can’t remember what’s normal anymore. That’s tough for sure.

    About your gait and walking.. Have you ever been to a chiropractor? I have heard they can really detect imbalances like you think you have and work to fix them!

  3. Wanting to recover perfectly is something that I really struggled with when I was recovering from my ED. I spent SO much time researching, planning, calculating, thinking… just to make sure that I was 100% on top of things because I didn’t think my body was smart enough to handle things on it’s own. It got to the point where I was just driving myself crazy, and it was that frustration that made me throw my hands up in the air, say to hell with it all, and just start going with the flow. Lo and behold, my world didn’t fall apart, and I actually started feeling 100x better than I did when I spent so much time obsessing over everything. Your body is smart and it’ll tell you what is right and wrong, you just have to learn to speak the same language.

  4. I think the important thing to remember is that there is no perfect way to recover. I think it will be easier for you if you just let yourself do it. That’s obviously easier said than done but you’ll make yourself much happier. You will make mistakes but that’s the learning process and you’ll come out of it stronger and healthier because you’ll know how to fix them next time. Do what your body and head are telling you- they’re probably saying it for a reason.

  5. Recoveries are the worst. I feel so bad for you. I think you should listen to what your body says. Try a lot of different things. I understand your point that no one’s been in the exact same boat as you. I want people to give me the answers but I’m stuck figuring things out myself!
    In the end, I think you will be fine. It might take time, but eventually things will straighten out.

  6. Ugh, i know how hard a knee recovery can be…well, kind of. My Dad tore his ACL and could literally do just about NOTHING for a good two months…and he really didn’t run much until a year later. It was VERY hard on him, as he uses running like me- an out. A way to release stress & feel human again 😉 I’m sure you know exactly what I mean.
    I am not sure what to tell you though, I would just say listen to your body, but I know that’s not really helpful. I will keep you in my prayers though…and if I hear of anything that could be helpful, I will be sure to let you know 🙂

  7. Pingback: Decisions and some weekend photos | Our Personal Records

Leave a Reply

