The Worst Decision Ever

Today is the reveal day for March’s Foodie Penpals.
And if you haven’t signed up by now you shouldn’t do it.
Worst decision of my life.

APRIL FOOLS!!!

I hope I didn’t offend anyone but I could not resist it!
But seriously, if you haven’t signed up for Foodie Penpals you definitely should go on over and sign up!
If you don’t know what it is, here is a quick little summary:

-On the 5th of the month, you will receive your penpal pairing via email.
-You will have until the 15th of the month to put your box of goodies in the mail.
-On the last day of the month, you will post about the goodies you received from your penpal!
-The boxes are to be filled with fun foodie things, local food items or even homemade treatsThe spending limit is $15The box must also include something written.
-Foodie Penpals is open to blog readers as well as bloggers.
-Foodie Penpals is open to US, Canadian residents & UK residents.

This month, I received a package from Alysha! First, I want to say thank you, Alysha, for the amazing package of goodies! Not only did she send delicious things but this girl was sick/unable to move around easily and she still managed to get my package in the mail. What a true foodie, right?!DSC02060

In the package:

  • Sierra Nevada Stout & Stone Ground Mustard
  • Mitten’s Crispy Sea Salt Crackers
  • Avocado Oil
  • Solar Rain Water
  • Carlsbad Gourmet Strawberry Honey Mustard Dressing
  • Aerogant Bastard Ale Jalapeno Heat Sauce
  • Foxy Treats Lavender Flavor (for Elmo!)

DSC02065

Of course, Elmo loves them. Such a little piggy.

DSC02064

What I love about all of these things is the fact they are all local business around Alysha’s Area. Many of her friends own these businesses which makes every product unique to me and it supports local businesses! Win, win! I’m most excited to try the stout & stoneground mustard because I would pick mustard over almost any condiment except (with fries and eggs) for ketchup. I’m curious how to use the avocado oil. I’ve seen it used in hair products but that’s about it!
DSC02061

Are you a mustard fan?
Do you know any recipes or ways to use avocado oil?
I’m not sure if it’s use in certain recipes to bring out flavor or what. Help me out!!!

I hope everyone had a great Easter! I’m glad you’re as frightened by the Easter bunny pictures as I am now!

13 thoughts on “The Worst Decision Ever

  1. Every month I forget about Foodie PenPal, and every month I wish I didn’t as soon as all the recaps start rolling around. Ketchup will always come first in my book, but I definitely love mustard… especially when it comes to seasonings and rubs. And I love how Alysha even included treats for Elmo. Lucky guy.

  2. Hahaha you got me good! I was thinking you got bad stuff or something! It was my first month doing it. What a great experience! Avocado oil… huh!

  3. I keep saying I am going to do this and have been saying so for the past, oh I don’t know, 2.5 years? Haha. Maybe next month, it really is a great concept! I mean you got such interesting stuff here… avocado oil is something I haven never even heard of, but bring on those healthy fats paaalease 🙂

    • You should sign up right now!! It’s definitely really worth it especially you get to try new things besides the kitchen “staples”. I’m so confused in what to use it for?!?!

Leave a Reply

