Natural Herbs and Acupuncture

So, after have a yelling fight discussion with my mom… We decided to try Acupuncture. Although I’m afraid of wasting more money, we decided it’s worth a try so I called Omniqi Acupuncture in Collegeville. Surprisingly, they had a cancellation within the hour so I was in my car and on the way as soon as I got off the phone. Talk about quick service!

April13 00002

The whole process was a little strange. I started off getting stretched and the needles began soon after my muscles were all warmed up. Good thing I like needles, right?! Pretty much, you sit in the room and the person comes in and twists the needles a little deeper every once in a while. After about 40 minutes, he removed the needles and gave me a list ofย natural remedies for inflammation. Talk about a grocery list.ย My gosh.

April13 00004

The scariest thing of the appointment was his thoughts on caffeine and inflammation. Dave – my acupuncturist – told me coffee puts acid into your cells and it can cause inflammation as it flows through your body. I almost cried. I’m going to try reducing it because I’m really trying everything but I just have to make sure to chug 2x’s the amount of caffeine with good ‘ole H20.

The hardest thing for me is leaving a place feeling as though nothing has changed or if I get home and things feel worse. Now, I don’t expect a change in one session but it’s hard for me to get let down time and time again. I don’t want to keep going with this and four months down the road, nothing has changed and I’m still an inflamed and broken mess. Plus, – and this is the hardest thing – I would be wasting so much of my parent’s money and it’s just more weight on my shoulders. I went upstairs tonight and just cried because my knee kind of feels more swollen. I just get scared I’m going down the wrong path because I have no one telling me to, “Choose this road”.

Do you ever feel guilty about spending money?
Yes, especially because it isn’t my own. Whomp, whomp.

How do you feel about natural remedies?
Right now, I’m going to be taking Arnica montana, drinking Aloe Juice, drinking Apple Cider Vinegar, taking some Ionic-Fizz drink, his own “concoction”, and much more.

21 thoughts on “Natural Herbs and Acupuncture

  1. Oh jeez. Giving up coffee (or even reducing it) would be HARD. I know you can do it though! I bet your parents don’t mind spending money to help your knee. You are worth it!

  2. I’ve never tried acupuncture but I have heard that people really like it and it works well so I’m def hoping that it works out for you. I’m interested about the coffee, I’ve never heard that but obviously if it’s true I might need to look into my intake LOL.

  3. Each time you try something new think of it as a new path. Say “Ok, I’m going to try this because I haven’t before and that’s the best I can do.” Stay positive. Don’t drink coffee if they’re telling you that you shouldn’t. Try decaf tea! There are tons of delicious flavors. I have never tried acupuncture but I’m happy you’re being proactive and trying new things.

  4. I’ve heard about the connection between coffee and inflammation, which is why I try to keep it to about a cup a day. I know it can be hard to give up some of the foods/drinks you love, but it’s worth it if it’s going to make you feel better. I had to go without oatmeal for 6 months because I was eating so much of it that my body developed a sensitivity to it, and while it was hard at first, it was sooooo nice to feel better.

  5. I think you should give this a shot and don’t future trip. I am the queen of that. kind of thinking oh it won’t get better or kind of predicting what you don’t know. I have heard that acupuncture is great for this type of stuff so I am keeping my fingers crossed for you

  6. Well, I hope despite all the overwhelming feelings you were able to embrace the new opportunity. I know that without knowledge and background info on acupuncture it can seem overwhelming, but if you look at the benefits of acupuncture helping inflammation is actually a very positive experience.
    I have heard about the effects of coffee + inflammation and you could always just give it a try and if it doesn’t make it better, then hey bring on the coffee. Or if you don’t want to cut the coffee, there are tons of other foods to eat to help inflammation! If you’ve heard of crazy, sexy diet; Kriss Karr talks a lot about a low inflammation “diet”. I hate that word and that I’m bringing up a “diet book” but I don’t believe you need to change what you’re eating just reintroducing more foods, like green juices and stuff.
    I’m seriously sending positive vibes for the acupuncture, and know it doesn’t work right away, so try to be patient with the whole process! If you ever want to e-mail me, seriously go for it! I’ve definitely experimented with tons of different stuff for my anxiety/pains/all that jazz.
    Okay, this was far too long of a comment ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Happy weekend love!

  7. Honestly, I think coffee and everything else is about moderation. If you’re drinking a cup or two a day, that’s probably fine. Too much of anything is never good. Avoiding something *completely* usually isn’t good either, though. If you drink 40-50 oz of anything per day (minus water), there’s probably going to be side effects, coffee included.

    The only one of those I’ve tried for anything is Apple Cider Vinegar. I don’t think it suppresses my appetite, but I still drink a shot each morning because I feel like it gets things moving (TMI perhaps…?).

    I’m glad you gave acupuncture a shot. I’d probably try it once more before really biting the bullet and saying it didn’t work. Maybe it takes awhile? A few treatments, perhaps? Regardless of money… don’t give up on searching and don’t give up on finding something that works. You’re worth more than that.

  8. I haven’t tried acupuncture before but it’s actually something I Have considered! There are a few places near me that do it and are actually pretty cheap. I’m sorry it didn’t help too much (errmm at all ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ) but perhaps it will after the first few times you give it a go? From what I understand about acupuncture, it’s something you have to keep up with in order to really wreak the benefits… like yoga I guess ha

    I sooo know what you mean about being guilty spending your parents money. I feel the exact same way, as so much of my mom’s money has been spent on blood tests, doctor’s appointments and other various crap to try and get me better… to find out what is wrong when her and I both know what the underlying problem has been for so very long now.

    I hope by now it is feeling a bit better though and that you are able to enjoy the rest of your weekend!

  9. The thing with homeopathic remedies is they aren’t meant to “cure” overnight. They are meant to build up in your body over time so even though it will be hard, try to be patient! Give it time!!!! I know that’s not what you want to hear because you’ve been giving this “time” for way too long! So what’s a little while long?! ๐Ÿ™‚ XO

    • That is not what I wanted to hear at all, but it’s probably what I SHOULD hear, so thank you! I just get really frustrated because I know I’ve tried homeopathic before (definitely not to this extent) but it never worked after time. I’m glad you’re still checking in on me!!! It’s great to hear from you ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. It shows a good side of you that you worry about spending your parents money, I would worry too!! I tend to lean more towards natural remedies for ailments, but I have no idea how acupuncture is supposed to work. I would for sure try cutting back on inflammatory foods and drinks and see if that helps!

  11. no coffee? I’ve been drinking MORE coffee. awww shoot. I know how you feel with wasting money thinking something won’t work. When I was in Hong Kong, my mum took me to an herbal doctor and they made me drink this nasty herbal stuff. Con … but it worked for my mum so idk …I’ve heard great things about acupuncture though. I think the swelling might be normal though. But fingers cross everything goes well and works out.

  12. I loveeeee coffee so I can understand how you feel… but sometimes for health you must try things to see if that’s really the true reasoning. I would give it up for a week.. ( try tea maybe ) and see if coffee is what is causing the inflammation to your cells, or try eliminating I know its hard to cut it out completely.

    I also do like trying natural remedies and researching their benefits- give them a go! doesn’t hurt.

    ps. I live near you!! small world! :o)))

  13. Pingback: Tea Shots and Cleanse Drinks | Girl and Pup

  14. I feel guilty spending money, even if it’s mine or someone elses. I work very hard and i know I deserve to buy things but its still hard. I should save more than I do.

    I am into some natural remedies, but I am always cautious and make sure to do a TON of research before trying anything new. I don’t want to grow 3 heads or anything. Like seriously.

  15. Ah I hear ya. Before I got my surgery diagnosis this past year, I tried everything for my hip. active release, graston, physical therapy, acupuncture…well, obviously nothing worked b/c it turned out I needed surgery, but I totally understand that frustrated feeling like you’re getting nowhere. I’m glad you tried acupuncture though! And I have to say there’s a lot to be said for natural anti-inflammatories. The coffee thing though…..yeah, I mean, you might wanna cut back but honestly one or two cups a day isn’t bad for you at all. I know out here in CO they make this antioxidant-enriched low-acid coffee….I can totally bring back a bag for you.

    Also FWIW – our genes are what really regulate inflammation. For example, dairy products cause inflammation in my body (intolerance), but most people can eat them just fine. Same with coffee – it doesn’t inflame everyone’s cells, only if you’ve got genes that are susceptible to it. And most importantly, you can’t take for granted living in Wawa country. trust me, life is too short to give that shit up lol.

  16. I hope your knee pain feels better. Give acupuncture a chance to work. Sometimes it takes several sessions to start to notice improvements. Just make sure to visit someone who is licensed to get the full benefits safely. Also, I’ve found arnica montana to be effective for inflammation. Sometimes nature surprises you. Spending money on your health isn’t the same as running out and buying material things. If you’re parents have offered to help, it’s because they truly care about your well being. As a side note: I’m an acupuncturist who occasionally drinks coffee. Don’t be too hard on yourself!

Leave a Reply

