It was a sign.

This weekend went by pretty fast but not fast enough. My knee is still really swollen but I have a doctor’s appointment this upcoming Thursday so I guess I’ll wait until then to see what’s up. I apologize for scaring you all with the picture in my last post, and although it doesn’t look as bad… It’s still pretty gruesome. 3 weeks down on crutches, only one more to go! Thank God. Lets move on to some Tuesday things since both start with “T”s. ๐Ÿ˜‰

1.ย Winning a free dozen cupcakes from Sublime Cupcakes on Facebook. I was under my mom’s account and tried to think of words to describe my Mommom. Since my vocabulary is on the small side (Hey, I’m a math major), I tried to think of a fancy word like everyone else but… My mommomย wasn’t fancy. My mommom was humble and my hero. She didn’t expect bells and whistles with anything, so I wrote “giving”. Plain and Simple. My mom was chosen out of 1000+ people. To me, this is a sign from my Mommom she’s always with me. I miss her so much.

2. I split the Chocolate Peanut Butter Crunch cupcake with my mom. These cupcakes are the best. I used to get them all the time on my way back to Shippensburg but I haven’tย let myselfย indulge inย way too long,ย so I definitely missed these little gems and it was worth every bite!

3. I ate dinner outย with my Mom almost every day this week. My dad was working second shift all week which leaves my Mom and I to eat whatever. Now, we refer to this week as “Wegman’sย Week” because we pretty much will drive 30 minutes to get Wegmans every other night. We’re slightly addicted, I guess. ๐Ÿ˜‰

4. I spent Mother’s Day with my mom. We have so many fights it’s ridiculous sometimes, but this weekend for the first time she said, “You know, when we fight and I say mean things… I don’t ever mean them”. It was the first time she’s said something about it and it just made things so much better. For the first time, she apologized and it meant… A lot. I love her.

5. I did some grocery shopping for Foodie Pen-Pals and bought these gems. So addicted. Thanks, Amanda. ๐Ÿ˜›

Overall, I’ve just been sitting around a lot and worrying about the fact my knee swelling doesn’t seem to be decreasing at all. It’s always a worry at this point. I can’t really help it. Now, I’m off to watch Who Wants to be a Millionaire and make some of oatmeal. Love.

Have you ever tried apple chips?
These are pretty good. I like the fact they aren’t soggy like normal apple “chips”. Plus, the only ingredients are apples and cinnamon!

What’s your favorite cupcake flavor?
I’m definitely a chocolate and peanut butter lover, but I also like Smoresย cupcakes… And banana… And who am I kidding?! I WANT THEM ALL! ๐Ÿ˜›

33 thoughts on “It was a sign.

  1. I overdid it once with the apple chips, and now I cannot stomach them! I’m so happy you’re closer to being off your crutches! I read somewhere, recently, that positive thoughts during recovery help speed things up. People with broken bones who imagined the bone healing had a faster recovery time than those who were not practicing positive thoughts. Try to imagine your knee healing, and you be mobile again, maybe it will help. Either way it will help your mood!

  2. I love apple chips and dried bananas too…my favorite apple chips are these ones that are freeze dried or something weird like that, they have a melt in your mouth type of texture. Hard to explain. Other than that just give me plain apple chips and I’m happy too. As for cupcakes…any flavor is fine by me.

    And lastly, wegmans is the holy grail. end of story.

  3. I haven’t had apple chips but they look pretty cool and so do those cupcakes! I love the ones with butterflies on them but really taste matters way more than how they look, right? We don’t have a Wegman’s here but we have a few similar stores where I like to go for dinner sometimes, and it’s cool you’ve been spending it with your mom.

    Good luck at the doc- keep us posted (btw, your scar pic wasn’t THAT bad. I’ve seen worse!)

  4. OMG those cupcakes look incredible. Maybe I should drive the 30 minutes west to go get some….and they look so much prettier than Crumbs or Georgetown Cupcakes! Oh and no shame for Wegman’s – I’m totally addicted too. And if I lived 30 mins away, I’d still probably drive there all the time…it’s bad enough living five mins away, my wallet hates me haha.

    • Sublime is coming to Collegeville!!! So you won’t have to drive 30 minutes! Haha! Seriously, my mom and I were discussing how in DEBT we’d be if Wegmans were closer to us… Or that whole shopping plaza in general.

  5. MMMM. those cupcakes, I’d be happy to win those although I’m not sure how fast I could eat all of the,. I probably would have to freeze some for later.

    I hope your knee deswells sometime in the near future. Thinking of you!

  6. You’re welcome ๐Ÿ˜› I definitely love me some apple chips, and I have to agree that the best part about them is that they’re actually crunchy and not soggy/chewy like a lot of the other apple chips are. I wish they weren’t so expensive, but after looking up an apple chip DIY recipe and finding out that you have to bake them for 2 hours, I think I’d save a lot of money on my electricity bill just by buying them instead. Eesh.

    And oh man… cupcakes. Chocolate is definitely my favorite, especially when it’s got some kind of coffee buttercream frosting. Holy.yum.

    • 2 hours?! Holy crap! I think most of the things I buy come wth a hefty price. Yeesh. It makes me wonder if going back to Reeses Puffs and Tasty Kakes would be better off for my wallet. YUM to coffee buttercream… especially with a chocolate covered espresso bean as decoration ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. I actually just bought the apple chips since I saw them on both Amanda and then your social media this week! I will keep you posted… I’m pumped ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Apple chips are great! They’re on this one salad at Panera bread and they’re really tasty ๐Ÿ™‚

    I am so happy that you and your mom were able to talk about your relationship. One of the hardest things to do is to talk about communicating.

  9. Sounds like a good week… good luck with the swelling. I’ve read that some people use quinoa for anti-inflammatory, it seems to work for me sometimes with small injuries.

  10. Those cupcakes are beautiful, and how special that you won them in memory of your Mommom. I’m sure she is smiling down at you. That’s great that you and your mom are getting along better. I think everyone has fights with their parents (I know I do), but never really mean the things we say. The fact that she acknowledged that to you is wonderful. I hope your relationship with her continues to grow stronger and stronger.

  11. AHHHHHHH you won butterfly cupcakes?!! I need them!! Anything with a butterfly automatically becomes perfection in my eyes ๐Ÿ™‚ One more week of crutches lady!!! Get it girl!

Leave a Reply

