low-fat strawberry trifle

Usually, I refuse to ever use a boxed cake mix. I’m not really sure if it’s due to me being stubborn, a baking snob, or the fact I made homemade brownies at the age of five years old. Maybe I’m just picky? I don’t know. Either way, to see anything from a boxed cake mix in my house is uncommon until now.

20130621_150848

When I was student teaching, I pretty much dreaded the day of my “going away” party because of cake and my inability to eat a serving then end up grumpy. Well, the best thing was my student teacher was on Weight Watchers (I don’t know how people do it.), knew I was a picky about food, and maybe me a low-fat strawberry trifle. Perfect.

20130621_161253

As soon as I celebrated with my first class, I was in love and in pure disbelief it was low-fat and made from a boxed mix. Now, if you believe artificial sweeteners will kill you… This probably isn’t the thing for you. I try to stay away from them as much as possible, but not with this dessert! Now way, Jose!

20130621_170200

So, without further ramblings, this is the dessert I made twice this past weekend. Yep, we went through one in two days.

DSC02185

Low-Fat Strawberry Trifle

For the cake:

  • 1 boxed yellow cake mix
  • 1 can of diet sprite or other diet lemon-lime soda (I used Zevia Mt. Dew)

For the pudding mixture:

  • 1 box Sugar Free Cheesecake Pudding mix
  • 1 1/2 cup of milk (NOT 2 cups)
  • 1 container of Cool Whip Free
  • 1 container Strawberries, sliced/chopped/smashed

Directions:

  • Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Spray 13X9 baking pan with non-stick cooking spray. Combine boxed cake mix and diet soda. Pour into prepared pan and bake 30-35 minutes. Let cool.
  • For the pudding: Stir together pudding mix and milk for about 2 minutes. Then, add Cool Whip and stir until combined.
  • Once cake is cooled, cut into 1×1 squares in the pan. In a large container, add 1/3 cubed cake, 1/3 pudding mixture, and 1/3 sliced strawberries. Repeat two more times.
  • Devour.

Confession: In college, I used to make this on Thursday nights so I could eat it straight out of the bowl while watching wedding shows on Friday night.

DSC02183

Bad ingredients? Yes. But delicious? Yes.
You’ve been warned. 😉

28 thoughts on “low-fat strawberry trifle

    • I didn’t believe it either until my mom showed me a picture haha! Of course, she helped me with the eggs and measuring but I put everything together and whisked it all myself!

  1. I need to make this….like NOW. A few years ago I had a friend who did WW and she told me to use soda in place of other ingredients for cupcakes… I was baffled and never tried it. But now that you bring it up, and that looks so damn good I need to try it! My Fiance’s sister is pregnant and has gestational diabetes so she has to really watch her carbs and sugars but she is due any day now and I promised her I would make her lots of desserts once the baby was born (she can go back to eating normally)—I’m totally going to try this!

    • Honestly, I can’t even put into words how good it is! I caught my dad eating out of the container and going back for seconds, thirds, and fourths which only happens when he REALLY likes something! It’s so easy and refreshing, too, she’ll definitely love it!

  2. Confession: I’m actually terrified of artificial sweeteners. Okay, terrified might be a little extreme, but they definitely skeeve me out. I blame mom for this one… She’s always been really into healthy living and basically drilled into my head from a really young age all the potentially negative effects of artificial sweeteners. I don’t think I’ve ever even had a diet soda before… 😯

    • It is probably a good thing you’ve never had them with all of the stuff I read about them. I barely drink diet sodas with artificial sweeteners (thank you, stevia) unless it’s diet gingerale when I’m sick or the diet cranberry gingerale around Christmas time. Otherwise, like your post today, I find myself CRAVING sugar-y things like crazy. I don’t make this a lot but when I do, I notice I wake up feeling sluggish. But, it tastes amazing, so I eat it anyway. 😛

  3. I try to avoid artificial sweeteners most (some?) of the time, but they definitely sneak in there sometimes! This looks yummy, but custards and trifles specifically are one of my fave desserts, so I don’t know if I could sacrifice with the low-fat version.

    • To be honest, my dad didn’t know a difference and thought it was custard because of how fluffy it gets from the cool whip! But, I had nothing but skim milk since I was born so I might not notice the difference as most people!

  4. While I’m not opposed to eating boxed cakes (well maybe not anymore unless they are dairy free) I too MUST make my treats from scratch. I am a baking snob for sure and will say it loud and proud!! HOWEVER I DO NOT mind when anyone uses boxed goods. This looks so good.

  5. I’m all for indulging some of the time. For the most part I avoid artificial sweeteners, but occasionally they sneak into my diet. And I’m actually a weirdo who hates cake…cheesecake I can do, but anything vanilla or chocolate flavored cake I just can’t do. But, I will eat the frosting happily!

    • I’m the opposite! I have a hard time eating cheesecakes! I think it’s the texture of it which kind of tastes odd to me, but if it’s the only option, I won’t turn it down 😛

  6. I am already writing the ingredients on my shopping list for tomorrow. A couple of years ago, I stopped drinking diet soda and cutting out all the artificial sweeteners, so I think I will just try a “non low calorie” version of this. That should work, too, right? Maybe I will just put in a few more strawberries to feel less guilty about it 🙂 Makes sense, no?!

    Thank you for sharing!

    • You’re very welcome! And yeah, a few extra calories will not make this a bad dessert! It’s still relatively healthy with the non-artificial things! And extra strawberries can never be a bad thing!

  7. i don’t know how i missed this post. this looks freaking delicious. the perfect summer dessert! my mom makes something similar with low-fat jello pudding, bananas, coolwhip, and nilla wafers. banana pudding! this is like the strawberry version! i’m sending it to her – thanks!

    • OMGosh, I love banana pudding! It’s one of my favorite desserts in the world because I love how the Nilla Wafers get kind of gooey from all of the dairy ingredients. Yum!

Leave a Reply

