Benign Hypermobility Syndrome (BHS)

This is going to be a really interesting and long post for me to write because, for some reason, this tiny syndrome has seemed to have a huge impact on my body. Being a former athlete and person who loves to be active overall, this syndrome seems to be important in order to try and keep myself injury free as much as possible. If you happen to have a lot of joint aches and pains/strains/sprains, you may want to read over this a little bit. This can effect runners, swimmers, weight lifters, etc. because your form is completely wrong from this syndrome.

If you don’t know what benign hypermobility syndrome is you can click here or read over this little summary:

  • Joints are held together by ligaments, tendons, etc. and looseness of these joints allows them to extended past the normal range of motion.
  • Hyperextension of the joints leads to swelling and pain the area after exercise or day-time activities leading to multiple strains, sprains, fractures, and even dislocations.

To diagnose BHS, look for these signs (and for your added enjoyment, I’ll include pictures showing I fit under all of them):

  • The wrist and thumb can be moved downward so the thumb touches the forearm.

DSC02262

  • The fingers (especially the 5th finger) can be extended back so they are parallel to the upper arm.

DSC02272

  • When standing, the knees are abnormally bowed backward when viewed from the side. (AKA MAJOR KNEE PAIN)

DSC02265

  • When fully extended, the arms bend further than normal (beyond straight).

DSC02267

  • When bending at the waist, with the knees straight, the child or young adult can put his or her palms flat on the floor.

DSC02276

  • Your thumb can bend 90 degrees.

DSC02260

So, what does this all mean? Well, every time I stand, squat, run, lift, or anything my joints were hyperextending all the time. When did my left knee start hurting? Sure, when I was compensating for my right knee but also when I was doing yoga and weightlifting. I was hyperextending my knee all of the time while putting it through poses and squats.

One of the most important things for people with BHS is to stand without hyperextending your knees which I do all.of.the.time. Without a doubt, I stand with my butt pushed out and my legs locked which causes major stress on my medial knee. This makes sense why my knees didn’t hurt walking/running (because they’re partially bent) but hurt while I was standing (hyperextended). Then, when I would sit or rest I would feel the pain from all of the pressure I put on my knees.

For now, I’m doing some things to try and and strengthen my joints in hopes this helps my plica/medial irritation of my non-surgery knee.  So far, I’ve noticed it hurts a lot less frequently. Sure, I have times (like now, oof) where I can feel it when I’m sitting but there are times now when I don’t feel it. I’m just holding on to this little glimmer of hope I may be able to heal this without surgery. Major fingers crossed.

Some things to do in order to overcome BHS:

  • Core strength. Your core keeps your pelvis in line where it should be when you’re standing. Think: Pelvic Tilts. Tiny little exercises but I’ve been doing them and notice a slight difference!
  • Standing with a slight bend in your knees. It will feel really awkward at first and at times I’m sure I look awkward, but I have noticed a difference when I’m standing.
  • Good arch support shoes. I’m definitely a neutral runner, but after being diagnosed with BHS my ankles may need extra support to keep everything in line.
  • Proper Form. This one is huge for weight lifters or Yogis. When you’re in a pose or coming up from a squat, make sure you don’t hyperextend your joints! I know I was doing this every time I came up from a squat or extending from a bicep curl.
  • Physical Therapy. If you’re really confused about what you’re doing, you may need to see a physical therapist for exercises.

Ever since I have been researching this, things have been on the up and up. I do have some bad days and times throughout the day where it will hurt and I feel like I’m back at square one, but I have major hope this is going to sort itself out. If not, fine. But, only time will tell for now.

I hope everyone found this interesting if you read all the way through! Smile with tongue out This was definitely a long and wordy post, but something I found really interesting. For now, I’ll leave you with some cuteness of a sleepy puppy.

DSC02271

Do you have BHS?

15 thoughts on “Benign Hypermobility Syndrome (BHS)

  1. Yep this described my life! I can’t do all of those tests but I can do a lot of them! Thanks for sharing it! It definitely answers a LOT of questions for me 🙂

  2. This was a really interesting post and yeah, I tried a few of those too! On a good day, I can place my palms on the floor when I stand up straight, but mostly because I do a lot of yoga, as I haven’t always been able to do that, or even touch my toes. It’s interesting to read about this and I almost want to share this post with a lot of people who may have this- I have a friend in high school who used to stand exactly like that and a few others who said they were “double jointed” but it looks like all of these activities.

  3. I fit a few of the criteria, and wow I never thought about it before! Thanks for sharing this. I am glad you found something that you can work on, I’m sure it must make your crazy life a little easier knowing at least something you can do to help! 🙂

  4. I don’t have BHS, but my knees hyper-extend pretty bad and my arms are so “double jointed” that I freak people out. I have to be conscious of my knees when I stand for a long time so that I don’t lock them out.

  5. I’ve never heard of BHS before reading this post! Did you just find out you have it? I’m sorry you are dealing with this, but it’s good that you are at least aware of it, and hopefully, you can start to heal. It’s also good to hear you’re feeling a little more optimistic 🙂

  6. never had heard of this before your post so thanks for bringing some awareness! seems like it’s going to be tough to adjust to but at least now you know you’re affected and can take the appropriate preventative measures.

  7. Pingback: Friday Favorites (7/12/13)

  8. WOWO WOW WOW! This makes me admire you even more girl. This sounds totally awful and quite uncomfortable, but Im glad you’ve found some ways to manage it and fight back! Ive never known anyone whose had this before.

  9. thanks for all the knowledge. I am able to do some of those things … but I don’t think that would mean I have BHS right? … I get knee and back pain but that isn’t linked? I could just be .. bad at my posture? anyway, reading this makes me see how much stronger you truly are. keep up the positivity girl! you’re amazing!

  10. Pingback: currently this weekend | Girl and Pup

Leave a Reply

