looking on the bright side

Hi!

Let me just say how beautiful it has been the last few days! Absolutely gorgeous. There’s something about this time of year (probably the sunny weather Winking smile) I just love. Although I am on the mend from surgery, it’s so nice to have the windows open with fresh air in the house!

For some reason, one of my favorite things about the spring/summer is falling asleep with the windows open. I love listening to the sounds of the crickets and silence outside at night. It’s just so relaxing and makes me want to jump into bed just to lay there. Am I the only one?

Needless to say, I cannot wait for the consistent warmer weather. I hope this summer is better than the last where I am not hobbling around for months. When I compare this surgery to my surgery last April, this one is a breeze. Maybe it was a good thing I had to go through one rough surgery to make this rehab easier. The bright side of things is key.

For the most part, I have been just rehabing and trying to take care of my knee. Last Thursday, I got my stitches out and my knee drained of fluid. Unfortunately, the flood was bloody but my surgeon said it’s normal for the first extracting after surgery. Now, I have heard this so many times before and things weren’t normal so I am just keeping my fingers crossed for this one!

I did ask for an MRI for my left knee (“good knee”) because it has been bothering me for over a year now. I don’t know if it’s from compensating but it’s good to be able to keep an eye on it. My surgeon probably things I am a loon, but I don’t want to go months and suddenly something goes terribly wrong with it. Maybe I’m paranoid; maybe not.

I am looking into accelerated nursing careers as well as sit down jobs with mathematics. If my knee gets better, I really would love to work in a hospital which is weird because I got panic attacks about two years ago just walking into one. There’s something about making a difference in people’s lives. Aside from teaching, anything in the medical field is really rewarding.

Thank you all for your kind words and advice! Now, I am off to shower and head to a local candy shop to get Easter candy with my mom. Smile

Have a great weekend!
xo Laur

10 thoughts on “looking on the bright side

  1. falling asleep with the windows open truly is the best – esp. if you can wake up to the birds chirping 🙂 we live in minneapolis, but in the spring it feels like the middle of the woods with all the birds making noise. & your pup is so, so cute — would probably BBF with my cockapoo Kinzie 🙂

  2. So sorry about the blood when they drained the fluid, but I’m glad the surgery and recovery weren’t as bad as the last one. hopefully the other leg is fine and it’s compensation stuff, but it still stinks that it’s now giving you problems.

    I do hope you can find a job you love. It’s so awesome that you’re comfortable enough with the medical field to work in a hospital too.

    • Believe me, after my first experience in a hospital for my knee… I never would have thought I would want to work in one. I had SUCH a good experience at my current hospital, I wouldn’t mind doing it at all now! It’s all about environment, I guess!

      As far as the fluid, my surgeon said it’s normal for right after surgery but he said it last time and it just kept coming… I seem to go against the “norm”. And YES for hoping it’s compensation stuff. Fingers crossed.

  3. My left knee is the same way as your good knee. It was my “good knee” but after a year of compensating for my right knee, I’m pretty sure its just torched now. Its been bothering me so much lately, I feel like its just going to break one day. Lameness.
    Will continue to pray for your recovery!!

Leave a Reply

