hey, hey, hey

Uhm… Hi!

It has been a while since I have updated this little nook I created for myself. I feel like so much has happened in my life; but really, not much has been going on aside from trying to rehab my knee.

Given it has been 3 years since I have been dealing with this nonsense, I have had it up to here (hand to forehead). It is a frustrating journey to put it lightly, but I just keep hoping one day a doctor works on me in SOME way and it just all changes for the better. Right now, though, we are looking at going to UPenn or the Mayo Clinic because I have gotten every test, biopsy, and scan known to my surgeon. There is nothing coming up and my knee looks good on film, but the thing does NOT want to stop filling with fluid. Oy.

Aside from my knee, I have been spending time with Elmo (obviously) and trying to just better my nutrition. My ED has gotten so much better but I still have a ways to go. Sometimes I feel like I’ll never fully be recovered, but then I recover more and realize it’s a journey. I struggle with certain things but the more I just try new things or go out of the “norm”, the easier it becomes to accept my healthy weight. It is tough but worth it. So, so worth it.

Elmo is doing really well! He has severe allergies to something and has to be on medication all the time or he completely bites himself to being raw. I feel so bad for him. His skin and everything was breaking out all over the place. He was a mess for a while and I was really worried about him. He’s doing good, though! Spunky and energetic, as always!

OH! And I am now an Aunt!!! My brother and his girlfriend had a baby girl, Sophia Rose. To say she’s gorgeous would be the understatement of the century. Those cheeks! UGH. I just love her and I know she’s going to be spoiled already. As if going into Target wasn’t tough already now there are baby clothes!!!

Off to finish watching Kelly and Michael (still my fave) and go to a doctor’s appointment!!

xo Laur

15 thoughts on “hey, hey, hey

  1. So happy to see you back in the blog world! Your blog has always been one of my faves :). I hope you can figure out what’s up with all of the fluid in your knee. I am so sorry about Elmo’s allergies!! Have you ever thought about changing his food? I have heard that sometimes switching a dog’s food can help with allergies! Also, congrats to your brother and his girlfriend on their baby girl! That is SO exciting!

    • We had him on THREE different types of food! It’s so sad. He can’t eat anything but these hypoallergenic treats and food. My vet is almost positive it isn’t a food allergy because he gets itchy the minute he doesn’t take his meds. Lol. I’m happy to hear from you! I’ve been watching you go through marriage and smiling ear to ear for you!!!

      • Aww, I figured you would probably try to change up something with Elmo’s nutrition! I think we have the same view on good food for our dogs/selves for healing! At least you tried to see if that would help! Keep me posted on how he’s doing!!

        And thank you!! I am smiling from ear to ear 24/7 🙂

      • SO happy for you! You seem genuinely happy about everything which is so, so great! And yes, I didn’t feed my dog any “people” food except peanut butter before he got the allergies because his stomach does NOT like it and because I like giving him food I know which is good for doggies!

      • Thanks! I really am so thrilled! It just feels right, you know?!

        I am with you on feeding your dog the best of the best! I have been looking into feeding Lola people food (like meat, eggs, fruits, veggies, oats, etc.) but I don’t want her to miss out on any key vitamins and minerals, so lately I have been sticking with high quality dog food and giving her scrambled eggs, homemade biscuits, peanut butter, carrots, and apples only as snacks!!

  2. Congrats on being an aunt – that’s so exciting! I’m sorry to hear that the knee is still giving you trouble though…I can only imagine how frustrating it gets. Fingers crossed that another doctor can figure something out.

    As for recovery being a journey – you’re absolutely right. It takes a long time and will be one of the hardest things you ever do. But every little improvement is a step in the right direction, so be proud of yourself for all you’ve managed to accomplish in recovery so far!

    • I hope this doctor can at least check another thing off the list, anyway. I guess there’s a plus to any new treatment!

      And I get down on myself at some points because I realize I still have a lot to work on, but then I realize how far I’ve come and it’s just… the best feeling. It is TOUGH, but so worth it. I wish I could speed my brain up for this process to just go faster! It’s allllll a mental game.

  3. WEEE POST UPDATE! Your knee seriously mind boggles me, I NEED SOMETIME to figure this out for you!! Glad you hear the nutrition department is progressing, but BOOOO to Elmo allergies!! Glad you’re alive and well my friend.

  4. I’m glad things are going relatively well. I can only imagine how frustrating your knee issue has been. I hope you can find answers. I always enjoy seeing your blog pop up.

    • Things are going pretty well. I’m trying my best to just check off boxes so everything gets narrowed down. I know how you hate being injured so imagine three years. haha. I really want to get together! Especially since Tim is away, the girls will play!…..

      Or something like that.

  5. I’ve missed seeing your face around these parts! Stop toying with my heart! 😛 And I can 100% relate to what you said about recovering from an ED. It really is such a long process, and just when you feel like you’re not getting anywhere, you look back and realize how far you’ve already come. Oh, and I don’t wanna spoil the ending for ya or anything, but it only keeps getting better from here 😉

    • I know it only gets better. I mean, really, the worst part of it all is getting over trying to create a body which isn’t real. It gets exhausting trying to transform yourself into what you WANT to see when you could be focusing more on important things: job, family, friends, LIFE. ❤ you!!!!

  6. I was so excited when I saw a post come up from you on my BlogLovin’! So happy to have you back in blogland! I’m so sorry to hear that things are still not going well with the knee – you will find an answer, of this I am sure! I’m thinking about you, and sending all kinds of good thoughts and hugs your way. ❤ xoxo!

Leave a Reply

