this morning’s thoughts

I used to think my focus on food was purely from my years with an eating disorder, but there’s something I realized this morning.

No matter what day it is or who I am talking to at the moment, people can always come together when talking about food. Whether it is their favorite foods, foods with memories of loved ones, or something they are craving and want to make themselves… Food is just such a bonding subject and I think it’s the reason I find myself just so involved in recipe and baker’s blogs.

My favorite recipe blogs are the ladies who talk about their lives and include little snippets or stories within the recipe photos. My two favorites are Jess and Sally which I am sure most people know through Pinterest or just word of mouth. I love how easy it is to relate to people through blogging, writing, and in life when talking about food.

Some of my food obsession I know is a result of my eating history, but a majority of it I blame on my foodie family. There are so many things I eat day by day which make me think of a family member, specifically my Mommom who passed away about two years ago. These moments can make some people cry but I love just being able to see a food followed by emotional memories and stories.

I know I overthink a lot of things in life. I analyze my thoughts and determine whether they are “healthy” thoughts or what not, but really… If you stop analyzing and overthinking each and every detail you will realize how beautiful and relieving it is to just be in the moment. It isn’t about what you are talking about which is important, but getting to know another person and bonding over something we all do… eat.

Just some thoughts from today. Happy Hump Day!

xo Laur

12 thoughts on “this morning’s thoughts

  1. I agree with you. I feel like people can always relate in some way or form to food. I can always find something from my food that I can relate to my family, friends or whatever.

    • I know. And I feel like whoever you have a conversation with about food, there’s always something to talk about with them. I think, too, since most of my friends are runners/athletes they spend a lot of time thinking about what they will eat after a run/workout so we all can just relate in so many different ways. “Rungry’ haha

  2. It’s amazing the emotions we associate with foods.

    Growing up, I often visited Charleston in the summers to see my aunt. We’d always go out to eat at the Ye Ole Fashioned Ice Cream parlor here in town, sometimes twice a week, and I’d get a great big serving of whatever ice cream I wanted (usually a crazy blue one). My aunt passed away in 2002.

    I live here now and pass by this ice cream shop most days. I’ve been once, with Clay and some friends. He likes it and occasionally goes there, and I have a really weird thing about eating there just because it brings back all those memories and holds a special place in my heart.

    • I know EXACTLY what you mean with certain places holding memories to the point you don’t want to go there in order to hold on to the past. There’s a few diners around my area I won’t go to anymore because I went all the time with my grandmother. I said to my mom sometimes I want to eat meatballs or something just at Christmas because it would be like one day of “meat eating” as a family celebration; however, the last meatballs I had were my grandmothers and I kind of don’t want to eat another one again. Haha.

      I’m glad I’m not the only one who sees things this way because food has such a way to transport you back to a certain moment or memory. ❤

    • I know. For a while I thought it was weird to be so hyperfocused on food, but my mom and brother both LOVE to talk about it, too. It’s just when you start cutting things out and not allowing yourself to eat it where it becomes a problem, I guess.

  3. I can very much relate to the overanalyzing aspect of it, but it really is possible to be interested in both food and health without it being an obsessive problem. Food is a HUGE part of our lives, and there’s absolutely nothing wrong with wanting to be healthy. There’s just that line that we shouldn’t cross, but I don’t think it’s as fine as everyone makes it out to be.

    • Yeah, I think food is just an easy ice breaker because everyone (well, unless you have the unfortunate event of becoming consumed by ED) loves food. And I think the line isn’t as fine, either. Sometimes thinking too much about anything makes things just worse. The best way to “recover” is just to live your life. No analyzing required.

Leave a Reply

