Life Update: Right Knee

These past two months, I have been traveling to Bryn Mawr Rehab Hospital for a physical therapy program designed for my right knee. This hospital is designed for both inpatient/outpatient programs with a wide variety of therapies.

At this hospital, I go through aquatic physical therapy, psychology, and just began a Graston Treatment.

For some reason, it seems as though when surgeons do not know what to do with a patient… They are thrown to physical therapy which is what I felt coming here. I do like it, but unfortunately, I haven’t seen any improvements except I do like my psychologist! Never thought I would see the day.

About two weeks ago, I had an appointment at Penn Medicine with an OS. He pulled up my MRI from last September and told me I have the option of re-bone grafting my bone or waiting to see if things get better. Apparently, there are fluid pockets where my bone graft was supposed to knit. Shit.

So, I have the decision right now of whether to go through this surgery again or see if those fluid pockets go away. There is no way of telling whether they will get better or worse. There is no way of telling if my next bone graft will knit correctly. Like with any surgery, there are no guarantees. I could go through an 8th surgery, 3 months + of crutches, and more PT to realize a year and a half later my bone graft didn’t take again.

Currently, I am living in a frustrated and anxiety driven life. It is my decision whether or not to get another surgery. It’s a huge weight on my shoulders. I am getting another opinion on the 21st (?), I believe, so we shall see how it goes from there.

I am not sure why my current OS never mentioned the fluid pockets to me and sent me to another PT program. Also, he told me to continue to run. I feel betrayed to put it lightly. And a bit hurt, but that’s neither here nor there.

I am just trying to focus on new things, different things, and the multiple new mindfulness techniques shown to me by my psychologist.

Time to spend time with my little birthday man. Happy Birthday, Elmo!

xo Laur

6 thoughts on “Life Update: Right Knee

  1. *hugs* I was glad to see your update because I’ve been missing your blog. So sorry to read about the knee issues and potential surgery again. I’m glad you like the psychologist though. I hope Elmo is doing well too.

Leave a Reply

